Home » Severe Side Effects » Scary Side Effects Part 3 – Antidepressant Induced Mania?

Scary Side Effects Part 3 – Antidepressant Induced Mania?

In the 1980’s, bipolar disorder was called manic depression and was a feared word. It was changed to bipolar (two poles) later in the 1980’s and diagnosed more and more. But often, the patient will present with depression symptoms, and get prescribed an antidepressant, which can cause horrible hypomanic, mixed, and even full blown manic episodes. This can be because we go to the doctor when we feel down, not up. After years and years of being bipolar, I know when to see a doctor for mania. (Also called “insight”)

 Mania can feel great, but it can also be dangerous. Impulsivity, people giving away all their money. Then comes the inevitable crash. Many bipolar suicides are accidental during a mixed or manic state. Some may say that antidepressant induced mania is just a side effect, it isn’t indicative of bipolar disorder. There are a lot of controversies about it.

 Some people put on antidepressants are bipolar, but it can have the same effect on somebody who isn’t bipolar. Their moods start cycling(1) and they start showing clinical features and meeting the diagnostic criteria of bipolar disorder. Is this a lasting effect? It can be. The criteria for bipolar disorder is one manic episode, although most have several.

 The findings of this study confirm that treatment-induced mania is a clinical phenomenon that belongs within the bipolar spectrum rather than a coincidental treatment complication, and that it should be placed under ‘bipolar disorders’ in future classification systems.” (1)

Statistics

Thirty-five percent of the patients had a manic episode rated as likely to have been antidepressant-induced. No variable was a predictor of vulnerability to antidepressant-induced mania. Cycle acceleration was likely to be associated with antidepressant treatment in 26% of the patients assessed. Younger age at first treatment was a predictor of vulnerability to antidepressant-induced cycle acceleration. Forty-six percent of patients with antidepressant-induced mania, but only 14% of those without, also showed antidepressant-induced cycle acceleration at some point in their illness. (2)

 Antidepressants can be devastating to someone with bipolar disorder. It can send the patient into a mixed or manic state. Some people are able to tolerate antidepressants such as tricyclics, MAOI’s, or Wellbutrin, but SSRI’s and SNRI’s have a tendency to push you over the edge. However, this may not be true at all!

 

Myth or Mania? Controversy

Sometimes the myth is just an incorrect use of language. Many people have detected a temporal association between the use of tricyclic antidepressants and mania in patients with bipolar disorder, but no mechanism is indicated. There is an assumption the association could extend to all antidepressants despite chemical and pharmacological transformations.(3) 

This association between mania and SSRI’s hasn’t been found. Studies find that the switch rate is no different than that of normal bipolar disorder when the patient is on an SSRI or SNRI.

 Revisiting the Controversy

Mania is likely to be antidepressant-induced and not attributable to the expected course of illness in one-third of treatment-refractory bipolar patients, and rapid cycling is induced in one-fourth. Antidepressant-induced mania may be a marker for increased vulnerability to antidepressant-induced cycle acceleration. Antidepressant-induced cycle acceleration (but not antidepressant- induced mania) is associated with younger age at first treatment and may be more likely to occur in women and in bipolar II patients.”(4)

 

Conclusion

Antidepessants can make a bipolar patient exhibit signs of mania. When the antidepressant is stopped, the mania generally goes away. Antidepressants are often prescribed for those that are bipolar, for the symptoms during depression. (I take Luvox for Pure-O OCD). However, a mood stabilizer with an antidepressant effect such as Lamictal or Lithium would be more effective than adding on antidepressants.

 

There are controversies, so keep that in mind. Also, with any medication and diagnosis: YMMV (your mileage may vary)

 

 

  1. http://psychcentral.com/news/2011/10/13/antidepressant-induced-mania-similar-to-bipolar-disorder/30300.html

  2. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/7625459

  3. http://thelastpsychiatrist.com/2005/07/do_antidepressants_induce_mani.html

  4. http://ajp.psychiatryonline.org/article.aspx?articleID=171161

66 thoughts on “Scary Side Effects Part 3 – Antidepressant Induced Mania?

  1. Aw, this was a very nice post. In concept I want to put in writing like this moreover – taking time and actual effort to make a very good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and certainly not appear to get one thing done.

  2. I like what you guys are up too. Such clever work and reporting! Keep up the excellent works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it will improve the value of my site 🙂

  3. I’ve read several just right stuff here. Definitely price bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how a lot attempt you place to create this sort of magnificent informative website.

  4. I’m impressed, I have to say. Really not often do I encounter a weblog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me let you know, you have hit the nail on the head. Your concept is excellent; the difficulty is one thing that not sufficient individuals are talking intelligently about. I’m very blissful that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

  5. Somebody necessarily help to make severely posts I might state. That is the very first time I frequented your web page and to this point? I surprised with the analysis you made to make this actual put up extraordinary. Wonderful activity!

  6. Nice read, I just passed this onto a colleague who was doing some research on that. And he actually bought me lunch because I found it for him smile Therefore let me rephrase that: Thank you for lunch!

  7. Heya! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing several weeks of hard work due to no back up. Do you have any methods to stop hackers?

  8. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  9. Have you ever considered about including a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is fundamental and everything.
    However think about if you added some great images or
    video clips to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and
    video clips, this website could undeniably be one of the most beneficial in its field.
    Terrific blog!

  10. I have not checked in here for some time since I thought it was getting boring, but the last few posts are good quality so I guess I will add you back to my daily bloglist. You deserve it friend 🙂

  11. I’m impressed, I have to say. Actually not often do I encounter a weblog that’s each educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you’ve gotten hit the nail on the head. Your thought is outstanding; the difficulty is one thing that not enough individuals are talking intelligently about. I’m very comfortable that I stumbled across this in my search for one thing referring to this.

  12. Nice website over here! I’ll just wanna say thnx for that. If you like to visit my website check out our website to please! thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

