Home » Psychosurgery » Psychosurgery Part 3: Deep Brain Stimulation

Psychosurgery Part 3: Deep Brain Stimulation

Highly Experimental Surgery for Chronic Depression

Deep brain stimulation is a highly experimental neurosurgical treatment for chronic depression is stimulated with electrical impulses.

Although it’s been approved for several other conditions, deep brain stimulation hasn’t been approved by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for depression treatment and is in the early stages of research.

Requiring brain surgery, deep brain stimulation is the most invasive form of brain stimulation treatment for depression. Deep brain stimulation works much like a pacemaker for your brain.1

Deep brain stimulation is some serious shit we’re talking about. It is also used for Parkinson’s disease and has many side effects, some of them potentially fatal or life altering. We’ll start with the surgical aspect of it. It is similar to a pacemaker, but for your brain, which has a lot of risks on its own. To top it all off, the long term effects aren’t even known yet, it’s still in the experimental phases2.

So, how does it work? There are electrodes placed deep in various areas of the brain that create pulses to override pre-existing ones causing disorders like depression, OCD and bipolar disorder. It is also said that the probes can effect certain cells and chemicals in the brain2. The amount of stimulation to the brain is controlled by a pacemaker like device implanted in the chest, with a wire (under the skin) connecting it to your brain. That sounds a little too much like Frankenstein to me!

Most people undergoing deep brain stimulation are in clinical trials. It has found to be generally safe, with normal surgery risks, but does have some permanent side effects that are irreversible. Generally, it is used in people who have tried everything. Currently it is used for Parkinson’s and other movement disorders, such as Tourette’s, but it is being tested in epilepsy, depression and more.

The surgery involves drilling small holes into the skull to implant the electrodes and surgery on the chest to install the pacemaker. There are complications to these surgeries such as: bleeding in the brain, stroke, infection, breathing problems, nausea, heart problems and scarring. It’s not a one time thing, either, those batteries aren’t changing themselves. There can also be malfunctions in the system, but the positive is that it would generally be where the pacemaker is, or where the wires run, so you don’t have to go through more brain surgery2.

Side effects after the surgery include: seizure, infection, headache, insomnia, memory problems and temporary swelling. The device is turned on after a couple of weeks which has a bundle of side effects, itself. These include: Numbness/tingling sensations, muscle tightness in the face or arm, speech problems, balance problems, lightheadedness and unwanted mood changes.

I thought it was supposed to help your mood?!

And the entire procedure is done while you’re awake, with a local anesthetic.

From the famous Mayo Clinic in the USA:

“Deep brain stimulation won’t cure your disease, but it may help lessen your symptoms. If deep brain stimulation works, your symptoms will improve significantly, but they usually don’t go away completely. In some cases, medications may still be needed for certain conditions. Deep brain stimulation isn’t successful for everyone. ”

To me, this surgery sounds scary and I don’t think it will be used frequently in mental illness due to the “unwanted mood changes” side effect. It’s serious surgery and needs constant upkeep (the battery in the pacemaker) plus you might still have to take daily meds. It would be a worst-case last-resort scenario, but you could be permanently brain damaged (well, any surgery can permanently damage you) and the success rate isn’t guaranteed.

  1. http://www.winmentalhealth.com/psychosurgery_lobotomy_cingulotomy.php

  2. http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/deep-brain-stimulation/MY00184

33 thoughts on “Psychosurgery Part 3: Deep Brain Stimulation

  1. I just want to say I am new to weblog and truly loved your blog site. Likely I’m going to bookmark your blog post . You amazingly come with incredible posts. With thanks for sharing your blog.

  2. Good website! I really love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I’m wondering how I could be notified when a new post has been made. I’ve subscribed to your feed which must do the trick! Have a nice day!

  3. I just could not depart your website prior to suggesting that I really enjoyed the standard info a person provide for your visitors? Is going to be back often in order to check up on new posts

  4. Somebody necessarily assist to make significantly articles I would state. That is the first time I frequented your web page and thus far? I amazed with the analysis you made to create this actual put up incredible. Fantastic process!

  5. I consider this is among the so very much significant info personally. And now i’m glad studying your article. However want to observation upon some common issues, The site taste is excellent, the articles is actually nice: D. Good job, cheers

  6. Great – I must certainly voice I’m impressed with your website. I had no discord navigating through every one tabs as well as related in a row. The situate wrecked positive being rightly easy to access. Nice job..

  7. It is in reality a nice and helpful piece of information. I am glad that you simply shared this helpful info with us. Please keep us up to date like this. Thanks for sharing.

  8. I have been browsing online greater than 3 hours today, but I by no means found any fascinating article like yours. It’s lovely value sufficient for me. In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made just right content as you did, the net can be much more helpful than ever before. “Perfection of moral virtue does not wholly take away the passions, but regulates them.” by Saint Thomas Aquinas.

  9. hello there and thank you for your information – I have certainly picked up something new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical points using this website, as I experienced to reload the web site a lot of times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and could damage your high-quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I am adding this RSS to my email and can look out for much more of your respective fascinating content. Make sure you update this again very soon..

  10. I like what you guys are up also. Such intelligent work and reporting! Keep up the superb works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it will improve the value of my web site 🙂

  11. That is the correct weblog for anyone who wants to find out about this topic. You understand a lot its virtually onerous to argue with you (not that I actually would need…HaHa). You positively put a brand new spin on a topic thats been written about for years. Nice stuff, just nice!

  12. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and help others like you aided me.

Leave a Reply

